Asia Cup to be held in Sri Lanka in August-September 2022

The 2022 Asian Cup, which in this case will be a T20I competition, is scheduled to take place in Sri Lanka from 27 August to 11 September. Saturday.

All five test teams – hosts Sri Lanka, India, Pakistan, Afghanistan and Bangladesh – will participate in the tournament, as will another Asian team, which will be decided after the qualifiers, which will be held from August 20.

The Asian Cup, which usually alternates between ODI and T20I formats, was last held in 2018 and was won by India. However, the pandemic forced the 2020 release to be delayed.

Sri Lanka was supposed to host the 2020 Asian Cup but Covid-19 pushed the event back to 2021 before it was finally rescheduled to 2022. Pakistan, which was originally supposed to host the 2022 AFC Asian Cup, now has the rights to host the 2023 AFC Asian Cup.

The sixth team to join the tournament will be a team from the UAE, Kuwait, Singapore or Hong Kong, with each team earning its place in the qualifiers by finishing first or second in the 2020 ACC Regionals.

The upcoming Asian Cup will be the 15th of its kind, it started back in 1984 in Sharjah. The reigning champions of India are the most successful team, having won it seven times, including the only T20I edition in 2016. Sri Lanka has won the competition five times.

At the AGM, it was unanimously agreed that Jay Shah, Secretary of the BCCI, will remain the President of the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) for one more year until 2024. Pankaj Himji of the Oman Cricket Board was appointed Vice President of the ACC and Mahinda. Vallipuram of the Malaysian Cricket Association was named chairman of the development committee.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button